Task Force

SMHC Task Force


Chair: Tim Pawlenty, Governor, Minnesota (R)

Three Vice Chairs:

  • Sir Michael Barber, Partner, McKinsey & Company; Former Chief Adviser on Delivery to the British Prime Minister, Tony Blair
  • Carl A. Cohn, Distinguished Leader in Residence, College of Education, San Diego State University; Former Superintendent, San Diego Unified Schools and Long Beach Public Schools
  • Michelle Rhee, Chancellor, District of Columbia School District; Former CEO and President, The New Teacher Project


Other members:

  • Joseph A. Aguerrebere, Jr., President and CEO, National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
  • Michael Casserly, Executive Director, Council of the Great City Schools
  • Yvonne Chan, Principal, Vaughn Next Century Learning Center; Member, California State Board of Education
  • Antonia Cortese, Secretary/Treasurer, American Federation of Teachers
  • Jack D. Dale, Superintendent, Fairfax County Public Schools, Virginia; Former Superintendent, Frederick County Public Schools, Maryland
  • Timothy Daly, President, The New Teacher Project
  • Dan Domenech, Executive Director, American Association of School Administrators
  • Denis Doyle, Co-Founder, Vice Chairman and Chief Academic Officer, Schoolnet, Author, The Doyle Report
  • Beverly Hall, Superintendent, Atlanta Public Schools
  • James B. Hunt, Jr., Former Governor, North Carolina, and Partner, Womble, Carlyle, Sandridge and Rice, PLLC
  • Susan Fuhrman, Chair, CPRE; President, Teachers College, Columbia University
  • Carol R. Johnson, Superintendent, Boston Public Schools; Former Superintendent, Memphis City Schools and Minneapolis Public Schools
  • Thomas J. Kane, Professor of Education and Economics, Harvard Graduate School of Education, Harvard University
  • Joel I. Klein, Chancellor, New York City Department of Education
  • Janet M. Knupp, Founding President, Chicago Public Education Fund
  • Matthew Kramer, President and Chief Program Officer, Teach For America
  • Edward E. Lawler, III, Director, Center for Effective Organizations and Distinguished Professor of Business, University of Southern California
  • Francine Lawrence, President, Toledo Federation of Teachers
  • Kimberly Oliver Burnim, Kindergarten Teacher, Broad Acres Elementary School, Montgomery County Public Schools, National Board Certified Teacher, 2006 National Teacher of the Year
  • Josh Reibel, President and Chief Operating Officer, Wireless Generation
  • Sharon P. Robinson, President and Chief Executive Officer, American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education
  • Eric Smith, Commissioner of Education, Florida; former superintendent of Ann Arundel County (MD) and Charlotte Mecklenburg (NC)
  • LaVerne E. Srinivasan, President, New Leaders for New Schools; Former Deputy Chancellor of Operations of the New York City Public Schools
  • Gerald N. Tirozzi, Executive Director, National Association of Secondary School Principals
  • Dennis Van Roekel, President, National Education Association
  • Randi Weingarten, President, American Federation of Teachers
  • Gene Wilhoit, Executive Director, Council of Chief State School Officers



Comments are closed.